Home > Government > Railway Stations to be named after Tinubu, Osinbajo, Fashola, others- FG

Railway Stations to be named after Tinubu, Osinbajo, Fashola, others- FG

Railway Station

President @MBuhari has approved the naming of some railway stations along the Lagos-Ibadan and the Itakpe-Ajaokuta-Warri corridors after deserving Nigerian citizens including Asiwaju Bola Tinubu and Vice President Yemi Osinbajo.

READ: Shock as Railway Corporation begins demolition of houses at Agege

The Railway stations which are under construction and due to be completed by 2021 will carry these names as a sign of their contributions to the development of Nigeria.

The Apapa Station will be named after the National Leader of the All Progressives Congress, Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu, while the Kajola Station will be the named after Vice President, Professor Yemi Osinbajo.

The Agege Station is also set to be named after the erstwhile Governor of Lagos State and the current Minister of Works and Housing, Babatunde Raji Fashola.

Others include;

The late Mobolaji Johnson (Ebute Metta Station)

Lateef Jakande (Agbado station)

Funmilayo Ransome-Kuti (Papalanto station)

Wole Soyinka (Abeokuta station)

Segun Osoba (Olodo station)

Ladoka Akintola (Omio-Adio station)

Obafemi Awolowo (Ibadan station)

Alex Ekwueme (Operations Control Centre).

For the Itakpe-Ajaokuta/Aladja-Warri Railway, the names are:

Alhaji Adamu Attah (Itakpe station)

Dr. Olushola Saraki (Ajaokuta station)

Admiral Augustus Aikhomu (Itogbo station)

Brigadier General George Innih (Agenebode station)

Anthony Eromosele Enahoro (Uromi station)

Chief Tom Ikimi (Ekehen station)

and Brig. Gen. Samuel Osaigbovo Ogbemudia (rtd) (Igbanke station)

Others according to the statement include:

Goodluck Ebele Jonathan (Agbor Station Complex)

Brigadier General David Ejoor (Abraka station)

Micheal Ibru (Opara station)

Alfred Rewane (Ujevwu station)

and Vice Admiral Mike Akhigbe (Railway Village, Agbor).