Home > Government > AAC Crisis: Sowore expels National Secretary, others from party

AAC Crisis: Sowore expels National Secretary, others from party

It appears an intra-party crisis may have hit the African Action Congress (AAC), a new party which had its first political outing at the 2019 general elections.

Recall that InsideMainland earlier reported that the leadership of the party suspended its presidential candidate and founder of the party, Omoyele Sowore, and 8 other high-ranking members for alleged anti-party activities.

SEE ALSO: JUST IN: AAC suspends Sowore, 8 others; See why

Against this backdrop, Sowore’s faction of the AAC has wielded the big stick against its National Secretary, Leonard Ezenwa, expelling him from the party for suspending the National Chairman and presidential candidate in the last election, Omoyele Sowore.

While reacting to his suspension and that of party officials loyal to him by Ezenwa, Sowore disclosed the expulsion in a statement on Monday, May 13, 2019.

The statement reads in part, “It has come to the notice of the office of the chairman of the African Action Congress that a group of suspended members, induced by financial reasons and anti-progressive politics, gathered in Abuja today and purportedly held a NEC meeting.

“These members, led by Leonard Nzenwa, former national secretary, who was suspended for financial impropriety and anti-party activities, have demonstrated by their actions that they have never been, and have never shared the core beliefs that those of us in the AAC hold.

“Leonard Ezenwa is hereby expelled from the party, and the misguided individuals who participated in the Abuja meeting are suspended from the party until investigations reveal the extent of their involvement.”

Ezenwa had announced the suspension of Sowore and eight others, including its Deputy National Chairman (South-West), Ogunlana Rotimi Jacob, for a period of six months over alleged anti-party activities.

Ezenwa was appointed acting National Chairman, while Abayomi Francis Olufemi was named Deputy National Chairman.