Home > My Area > Bariga Bye-election: LASIEC releases names of qualified candidates

Bariga Bye-election: LASIEC releases names of qualified candidates

Ahead of the forthcoming Councillorship bye-election into Ward C (Owode Orile) in Bariga Local Council Development Area, Lagos Mainland, the Lagos State Independent Electoral Commission (LASIEC) has released the list of validated candidates for the election.

According to LASIEC, Nurudeen Olufemi Sowande of the All Progressives Congress (APC) and Taiwo Azeez Sunkanmi of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) have been cleared by the Commission with their details pasted on the Notice Board at the commission’s Yaba headquarters.

Recall that the Commission earlier announced that the election will hold on Tuesday, December 18, 2018, in Bariga, Lagos Mainland.

Meanwhile, LASIEC has scheduled a training programme for the election personnel who will serve in various capacities as ad-hoc staff during the election.

The training programme will be held tomorrow, Thursday, December 13, 2018, at the LASIEC office in Yaba, Lagos Mainland.

The ad-hoc personnel to be trained will consist of Poll Clerks, Presiding Officers, Supervisory Presiding Officers, Collation Officer as well as Returning Officer among others.

Upon completion of training, the ad-hoc personnel will be deployed to all the 33 Polling Units in the affected Ward.

The training programme, according to the Commission, would be thorough and encompassing to ensure that the ad-hoc personnel not only understand their duties as election officials, but actually carry out such.



Idris Aina
Idris is a media and communications professional with keen attention to details. An entertainment enthusiast, he is an ardent fan of the team from the Red Side of Manchester with love for football banters. He tweets with the handle @arlomah.