Home > Government > Here is what went down as Lagos State Councilors Forum elect Officers

Here is what went down as Lagos State Councilors Forum elect Officers

The Councilors in Lagos Mainland communities and other parts of the State yesterday, January 31, 2018, elected executives who were also inaugurated same day to provide leadership for the exalted body of lawmakers at the grassroots level.

The election was held under the supervision of the distinguished Lagos House State Of Assembly members, ex-commissioners, Clerks of the House and the media took place at Epe Local Government.

The executives were nominated and elected based on their rare display of determination to succeed, dexterity in legislative work, upholding of integrity, trustworthiness and charisma, InsideMainland gathered.

Speaking during the event, Governor Akinwunmi Ambode who was represented by Hon. Tobun Abiodun stressed that the “Councilors should act as overseers to the State Government at the grassroots level because they are closer in functions to the people.”

He added that “community development in the 21st Century lies basically on the lawmakers, hence, in fulfilling the Lagos master plan; all hands must be on-deck.”

In his remarks, Hon. Nurudeen Alimi who was elected Chairman of the body canvassed for the cooperation of all and sundry towards achieving a successful tenure. He, however, stressed that the forum will ensure the dividends of good governance is felt at the local government level.

See the full list of the Executives and their portfolios below.

1. Chairman – Alimi Nurudeen – Ikorodu LGA.

2. Deputy Chairman 01 – Remy Remy Shittu – Oshodi Isolo LGA.

3. Deputy Chairman 02 – Adedeji Mujidat Funmilayo – Apapa LGA.

4. Deputy Chairman 03 – Higara Olalekan Almubaraq – Ibeju Lekki LGA.

5. Secretary-General – Oshodi – Abimbola Oluwasegun – Amuwo Odofin LGA.

6. Treasurer – Olaleye Taiwo Afinni – Eti 0sa LGA.

7. Legal Officer – Femi Oke – Ifako Ijaye LGA.

8. Financial Secretary – Arogundade A. Kehinde – Ajeromi Ifelodun LGA.

9. Auditor – Badagry LGA.

10. Organizing Secretary – Bamgboye Toyin – Lagos Mainland LGA.

11. Public Relation Officer – Olasunkanmi Adelola – Alimosho LGA.

12. Welfare Officer – Toyin Odegbesan – Kosofe LGA.

13. Social Secretary – Adebowale Adetoro – Ikeja LGA.

14. Assistant Secretary – Titilayo Idris – Surulere LGA.

15. Assistant Treasurer – Joel Olabode Adigun – Agege LGA.

16. Assistant Public Relation Officer – Shanu A. Ganiyu – Epe LGA.

17. Assistant Auditor – Jide Giwa – Somolu LGA.

18. Assistant – Mushin LGA.

19. Assistant Financial Secretary – Olaniyi Samusideen Ojora – Lagos Island LGA.

20. Assistant Organizing Secretary – Wusu Solomon Adefemi – Ojo LGA.



Idris Aina
Idris is a media and communications professional with keen attention to details. An entertainment enthusiast, he is an ardent fan of the team from the Red Side of Manchester with love for football banters. He tweets with the handle @arlomah.