Home > My Area > Voters apathy dominate LG elections as APC takes clear lead

Voters apathy dominate LG elections as APC takes clear lead

The highly anticipated council elections across the 57 LGs/LCDAs held in Lagos State yesterday, Saturday, July 22, 2017, with top political parties in the country presenting candidates for the elections.

The council polls which will help elect individuals into elective positions at the local government level held with constituents voting chairmanship and councilorship candidates simultaneously across polling units in their respective areas.

While political agents and canvassers were evidently seen around the state mobilizing voters for their respective political parties, it was clearly that the elections was characterised by a low turnout of voters.

Apart from the heavy rainfall witnessed across Lagos, residents barely turned up to vote at some polling units. Some units in Meiran under Agbado Oke – Odo LCDA had less than 200 voters turn up for the exercise.

In addition, voters who visited some of the polling units were mostly the elderly ones who waited patiently for the arrival of election officials to conduct the exercise.

Meanwhile, there were complaints from party agents and voters about the delay in the arrival of election materials and officers to their Wards.

It should also be noted that hours after voting had started in parts of Lagos, LASIEC officials and election materials were yet to arrive some polling units. Residents around Ijede, Odogunyan, Meiran, Abule Egba and parts of Ikorodu complained about the late arrival of election officials to their community.

However following the collation of election results so far, the All Progressives Congress (APC) candidates is having a clear lead in the polls. So far, the party candidates have been declared winner in the underlisted local government areas.

1. Eredo

2. Ikorodu West

3. Surulere

4. Onigbongbo

5. Lagos Island

6. Badagry West

7. Ikeja

8. Ikorodu

9. Epe

10. Ikoyi/Obalende

11. Odi-Olowo/Ojuwoye

12. Badagry Central

13. Yaba

14. Amuwo Odofin LG

15. Ojokoro

16. Orile – Agege

17. Alimosho



Idris Aina
Idris is a media and communications professional with keen attention to details. An entertainment enthusiast, he is an ardent fan of the team from the Red Side of Manchester with love for football banters. He tweets with the handle @arlomah.