Home > My Area > Lagos LG Elections: We won’t contest in 42 Council Areas – NNPP

Lagos LG Elections: We won’t contest in 42 Council Areas – NNPP

One of the parties registered for the Lagos Local Government Council Elections, the New Nigeria People’s Party (NNPP) has announced that the party will present candidates in the July 22 Lagos local government elections only in 15 of the 57 council areas of the state.

The state chairman of the party, Malam Shakirudeen Olofin, made the disclosure in Lagos yesterday, May 14 2017. He said the decision of the party to contest only in these council areas was a deliberate strategy to focus on its areas of strength and manage resources.

“You know elections are capital intensive. But we do not have enough resources to cover all the council areas of the state. So what we have done is to focus on our areas of strength, the areas where we have more presence and we are relatively popular. We believe this is better, as it would enable us put our resources to optimal use and create impact at the polls,” he said.

Olofin said that the party would soon hold its primaries to elect its chairmanship and councillorship candidates for the polls. He said that the primaries would be transparent and not fall short of acceptable democratic principles.

Speaking on the areas where the party would present candidates, Olofin said NNPP candidates would contest in Ayobo/Ipaja LCDA, Agbado-Oke Odo LCDA, Mosan-Okunola LCDA, Oshodi/Isolo LGA, Oriade LCDA, Eredo LCDA, and Ikotun-Igando LCDA.

He listed other areas as Badagry LGA, Somolu LGA, Kosofe LGA, Ikeja LGA, Epe LGA, Apapa LGA ,Apapa LGA and Ajeromi Ifelodun LGA.

The chairman added that the party is working hard for the election and expressed optimism that it would make impact at the poll.



Idris Aina
Idris is a media and communications professional with keen attention to details. An entertainment enthusiast, he is an ardent fan of the team from the Red Side of Manchester with love for football banters. He tweets with the handle @arlomah.