Home > Government > Ambode Appoints Former Lagos Commissioner of Police As Head of Neighbourhood Watch; See Profile

Ambode Appoints Former Lagos Commissioner of Police As Head of Neighbourhood Watch; See Profile

In a bid to strengthen community policing across Lagos State, Governor Akinwunmi Ambode has constituted the Board of the Neighbourhood Safety Agency to be led by a vastly experienced and decorated ex-Police Commissioner, DIG Israel Ajao.

Prior to his appointment as Chairman of the Neighbourhood Safety Agency, DIG Ajao who was a former Commissioner of Police in Lagos and Ogun States and DIG Criminal Investigation was a Member Board of Trustees of the Lagos State Security Trust Fund, LSSTF.

DIG Ajao attended University of Ibadan and graduated with B.A (Hons) in History and was enlisted in the Nigeria Police Force on 1st August, 1977 as a Cadet Assistant Superintendent of Police. He went through Law academy with a LLB (Hons.) and was a Commissioner of Police – Anti-Fraud Unit (FCID), Commissioner of Police – Ogun State (2002-2004), and Commissioner of Police – Lagos State (2004-2005).

Furthermore, he was the AIG in charge of Zone 2 Lagos (2005-2008). He served in other capacities until he became the DIG – Force Headquarters, Abuja (2009 -2010) before his retirement.

DIG Ajao who is happily married with children had attended numerous international courses and currently holds National honors of OON, Nigeria Police Medal (NPM) and is also a member of the National Institute for Policy and Strategic Studies –Kuru Jos (MNI).

Other members of the Neighbourhood Safety Agency Board are Mr. Gboyega Bajulaiye who is the Executive Secretary of the Board; representative Of the State Commissioner Of Police, Suleiman Lewi (CSP); Chairman Lagos Task Force, Yinka Egbeyemi (SP); a representative of the Department of State Security Service (DSS); Executive Security, Lagos State Security Trust Fund, Mr. Razaq Balogun; Community Representatives of Epe Division, Dengel Anifowoshe; Ikeja Division, Chief Tunde Aboyade; Lagos Division, Mr. Ishola Laguda; Badagry Division, Mrs. Ronke Ogabi; and Ikorodu Division, Mrs Kofoworola Adegboye.



Idris Aina

Idris is a media and communications professional with keen attention to details. An entertainment enthusiast, he is an ardent fan of the team from the Red Side of Manchester with love for football banters. He tweets with the handle @arlomah.